Serving Fresno, Madera, Tulare and Kings Counties California
The official website of

Sequoia Council
Boy Scouts of America and Exploring
Home >> Journey to Excellence

 Scouting's Journey to Excellence
2013 Performance Recognition Program

Below please find the 2013 Journey to Excellence form for your unit to complete and return to either the Fresno or Visalia Scout office before December 31, 2013. For some of the measures you may need to do some estimation. We understand this is a new process. If you have questions please contact your unit commissioner and/or your professional Scouter. These forms are also available at: National Website

Thanks for all you do!

Richard Schneider
Council Commissioner
John Richers
CEO / Scout Executive


Journey to Excellence in 2013 will proceed along the path of continuous improvement.  It is based on many of the best practices used in the corporate performance measurement field today.  Journey to Excellence changes the basic way we measure and recognize success in the Boy Scouts of America by moving away from measuring process and moving to measuring performance.  Below provides specific information to help you understand the criteria and exactly what data will be used to determine the three levels of performance.  In planning your strategy, use actual numbers from the previous year to guide your performance improvement goal planning.  In each area, your unit may qualify by meeting a specific standard or by showing measured improvement.


Scoring your Unit performance:  To determine the Unit performance level, you will use the information on the performance measurement sheet to determine the points earned for each of the 13 individual criteria and then add those individual point scores to determine a composite score. Count only the highest point total achieved in any one criterion. Bronze level requires earning points in at least 10 criteria plus 700 points, Silver level requires earning points in at least 10 criteria and 1,000 points, and Gold level requires earning points in at least 10 criteria and 1,600 points.

Download Form